Office Members (Current Term)
Term 2016-2018
Tom Baker
Email address: rbaker@uottawa.ca
Tom joined the Chemistry Department at the University of Ottawa in 2008 as Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Catalysis Science for Energy Applications and Director of the Centre for Catalysis Research and Innovation. His research interests include applications of homogeneous and supported molecular catalysts to hydrogen storage, biomass conversion, tandem processes using alkanes, and “green routes” to fluorocarbons.
Ying Zheng
Vice Chair
Email address: yzheng@unb.ca
Ying is a professor and Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Chemical Process and Catalysis at the Department of Chemical Engineering, University of New Brunswick. Her research group involves development of new catalysts and chemical processes for cleaner fuels and biofuels.
Josephine M. Hill
Email address: jhill@ucalgary.ca
Josephine is the Canada Research Chair in Hydrogen and Catalysis in the Department of Chemical & Petroleum Engineering, Schulich School of Engineering, University of Calgary. Her research focuses on catalysts for hydrotreating, gasification and the development of catalysts and adsorbents from petroleum coke and biomass.
Natalia Semagina
Email address: semagina@ualberta.ca
Natalia is an Associate Professor at the Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering, University of Alberta. Her group develops advanced catalytic materials for applications in energy sector, environmental care and fine chemicals synthesis.
Nadi Braidi
Email address: Nadi.braidy@usherbrooke.ca
Nadi is an Associate Professor in the Department of Chemical and Biotechnological Engineering, University of Sherbrooke. He is the holder of the Canada research Chair in synthesis and characterization of multifunctional nanomaterials, namely for developing novel catalysts and chemical processes.
Ya-Huei (Cathy) Chin
Email address: cathy.chin@utoronto.ca
Cathy is an Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry at the University of Toronto. Her research focuses on understanding catalytic events occurred at solid surfaces during the production of fuels, chemicals, and value-added products. The strategies involve synthesizing materials with purpose-built structures and compositions and applies combined methods of kinetics, spectroscopy, microkinetic modeling, and isotopic analysis to probe their dynamics and kinetic consequences in chemical reactions under conditions relevant to industrial practice.
Robert Scott
Email address: robert.scott@usask.ca
Rob is a professor in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Saskatchewan. His research group develops nanoparticle catalysts for reduction and oxidation reactions, and follows the chemistry of nanoparticle catalysts via in situ x-ray absorption spectroscopy at the nearby Canadian Light Source. His research interests include Au cluster chemistry, nanoparticle stabilization and catalysis in ionic liquid solvents and development of bimetallic nanoparticle catalysts by rational design.
Hui Wang
Email address: hui.wang@usask.ca
Hui is a Professor in the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering at the University of Saskatchewan. His research interests are heterogeneous catalysts development, catalyst and catalytic reaction study using synchrotron X-ray absorption spectroscopy, chemical reaction engineering and separation/adsorption processes.
Charles Xu
Email address: cxu6@uwo.ca
Charles is a Professor of Chemical and Biochemical Engineering at Western University and was the NSERC/FPInnovations Industrial Research Chair in Forest Biorefinery (2011-2016). He works in the field of biorefinery and green process engineering, particularly in development of catalysts and catalytic processes for conversion of agricultural/forest biomass/residues into bio-fuels and bio-based chemicals and materials.
Xiaohui Zhang
Email address: x.zhang@shell.com
Xiaohui joined Shell Canada in 2005, starting as a Process Engineer at the Scotford Upgrader. He is currently a Technology Development Engineer at Shell Technology Centre Calgary.
© Canadian Catalysis Division All Rights Reserved
Contact Us : chair@catalysisdivision.ca / webmaster@catalysisdivision.ca