News / Announcements
Professor B.M. Weckhuysen of University of Utrecht chosen as 2018 R. B. Anderson Awardee
Original Post: 20170221 / admin, Last Modified: 20170904 / admin
Prof. Bert Weckhuysen of University of Utrecht (The Netherlands) has been chosen as the 2018 R.B. Anderson award winner. Professor Weckhuysen received both his master and PhD degree from Leuven University (Belgium) in respectively 1991 and 1995. Since October 1, 2000, he has been a Full Professor of Inorganic Chemistry and Catalysis at Utrecht University (The Netherlands), where he has recently been appointed as a Distinguished Professor. He has authored or co-authored more than 460 publications in peer-reviewed scientific journals, which have gathered more than 19,400 citations. His research interests include the development and use of in-situ and operando spectroscopic methods (including synchrotron methods) for heterogeneous catalysts in order to develop relevant structure-activity relationships for catalytic processes, catalytic conversion of biomass to fuels and bulk chemicals, synthesis and characterization of ordered (micro-) porous materials with catalytic potential, and the molecular design of transition metal ion complexes in inorganic hosts for catalyst applications. The awardee will present two lectures at the Canadian Symposium on Catalysis in Saskatoon on May 8-11, 2018.
The Catalysis Division of the Canadian Institute of Chemistry has New Executives for 2016-18
Original Post: 20160517 / admin, Last Modified: 20160517 / admin
The Catalysis Division of the Canadian Institute of Chemistry has chosen its new Executive Committee for the 2016-18 term in its annual general meeting during the Canadian Symposium on Catalysis which was held in Ottawa, Ontario from May 8 to 11, 2016. Professor Tom Baker of the U of Ottawa become the chair of the committee for this term. He thanked the past chair, Professor Josephine Hill of the U of Calgary for her tremendous contribution foe the Division in last two years. Tom was also thanked for the success of organizing the symposium of 2016.
© Canadian Catalysis Division All Rights Reserved
Contact Us : chair@catalysisdivision.ca / webmaster@catalysisdivision.ca